20 Feb 2014: Studio, Kensington

3D Studio

3D Studio

My own studio space!

My own studio space!

Notting Hill

Notting Hill

Notting Hill

Notting Hill

Kensington Palace

Kensington Palace

Kensington Gardens

Kensington Gardens

Kensington Garden

Kensington Garden

Kensington Gardens

Kensington Gardens

Kensington Gardens

Kensington Gardens

Tomato, Egg, Spinach Croissant from Cocomaya

Tomato, Egg, Spinach Croissant from Cocomaya

Jordan's baby lemon poppyseed slice.

Jordan’s baby lemon poppyseed slice.

Typography

Typography

Loaf

Loaf

Chicken Pesto, Loaf

Chicken Pesto, Loaf

Ready to press

Ready to press

The designed transferred to the fabric. Had some technical issues, but I'm happy.

The design transferred to the fabric. Had some technical issues, but I’m happy.

After hours of staring at Adobe Illustrator, one must go stroll the streets at night with friends. This week I found Herman ze German that I’ll be back to try as well as a few other shops that we need to pop into during the daylight hours. I was sent on a mission to purchase some cheap fabric for my printing exploration. Goldhawk Road is well known for the cheap fabric that can be found in and near Shepherd’s Bush Market. The market had everything. Lots of foreigners selling tomatoes, ceramics, granny panties, meters and meters of every fabric, falafel, dried fish heads and whole lamb legs hanging from ropes in the open air. I made my way through it twice and that was probably enough until forever. Except that falafel, I might go back for that. I got some polyester and a gentlemen gave me some scraps for free so that set me off smiling for my journey home. Oh yes, the market is 4.5 miles away, but the route takes you near Notting Hill, Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens so since my Wednesday class was off for the week, I walked. I had planned on taking the bus home, but I had really wanted to wander through the parks and side streets instead of seeing everything from the top of a double decker (which has it’s own value, but not in this beautiful weather). The sun was out and Kensington Gardens was the busiest I’ve seen it. I finally saw the palace from the outside, meh. I’d live there, I guess. If I had to. I’d be happy to have acres and acres of park as my yard though. Not so sure about the tourists crawling through the grass and swimming in the ponds, but I suppose that comes with the territory. I’m just jealous really, Kate.

Because London is enormous and because Kensington Gardens has millions of kilometers of paths, I had to stare at Jordan for a few moments before I realized that I just ran into someone I knew. She was out on a morning run, we were two miles from home and we were both hungry for a little cafe so we angled ourselves in a new direction and came upon a quiet street with the bakery Cocomaya. I indulged in an egg, tomato and spinach croissant (the best croissant I’ve ever eaten, but I’m not too sure that’ll stand forever as Paris holds so much promise). We ate on the pavement which was a nice change up after all these weeks of rain. Onward we went, further discussing how small the portions are and how we’re still hungry (Jordan’s sandwich was exceptionally little, as was her lemon poppyseed slice, just look at the picture). Naturally we decided to make tapas of lunch. We wandered some new streets and landed upon Loaf, a toastie shop we’ve been meaning to try for weeks. We clinked our Chicken Pesto Toastie halves together, made a proper cheer and then proceeded to devour this chicken that instantly warms your belly and sends some type of food-eater endorphins throughout your body. I don’t eat a lot of meat here so this was a nice addition to my diet. It’s just too difficult and expensive in the flat. Plus as a recovering vegetarian, I’m challenged a bit by it still. After eleven glorious miles of walking, I made it to the flat just in time for a cup of afternoon Chamomile + Spice Apple tea and to start my research.

I’m experimenting with the heat press at uni now. I’ve decided against screen printing due to the money and the time, both of which I’m short on at the moment. I’m quite pleased with how it turned out. There are a few technical problems with some shifting and a dirty press, but I’ll figure it out with due time.

One thought on “20 Feb 2014: Studio, Kensington

Leave a Reply

