23 Feb 2014: Bath, Stonehenge

Borough Market

Borough Market

I went to the Borough Market with my flatmates this week. It was our first experience and a good one it was. We spent quite a bit of time testing every cheese, dried sausage, olive oil and brownie sample we could before purchasing a German bratwurst. I went ahead and added sauerkraut and mustard, GASP. This is not the norm, but I’m taking risks here. Mostly with food as you’ll begin to see. Either way, I downed it and loved it and I could go for a few more. We picked our way through dessert and I’m not sure that we are all welcome back at every booth because sometimes you have to go back for seconds. And thirds… stealthiness is no longer my superpower. A real bummer.

Borough Market, Bratwursts

Borough Market, Bratwursts

Kaleo & Jordan with their Brats

Kaleo & Jordan with their Brats

Obligatory bratwurst photo

Obligatory bratwurst photo

Borough Market in South London

Borough Market in South London

London Fashion Week in my embarrassingly not fashionable attire. Hashtag Northface.

London Fashion Week in my embarrassingly not fashionable attire. Hashtag Northface.

This past week was London Fashion Week and as everyone is well aware, my style is nonexistent so I distanced myself from the mayhem and cursed my decision to take Oxford Street and shop at TopShop in all the madness. I did manage to get a picture at the Somerset House of the catwalk. Woopty-doo.

South London

South London

Bath, England

Bath Abbey, Bath, England

On Saturday I traveled by coach to Bath and Stonehenge. Each time I get out on the street before the rest of London wakes up is a constant reminder as to why the mornings are forever my favorite. There was limited time to see everything so we did a little drive by of some landmarks before we were dumped off at the Roman Baths in Bath itself. In the past, I haven’t found baths to be all that interesting, but I’m going to assume that is because looking at empty wells that have been enclosed in modern buildings in poor lighting just doesn’t cut it for me. But this was the real deal. The only hot water spring in the United Kingdom still bubbles up in this same spot, held at the same level as when the baths were constructed. The temple was constructed in 60AD and the baths followed for the next 300 years. The lead lining in the Great Bath is still watertight. The water was thought to have healing power and as the tale goes, a man with leprosy was quarantined outside of town to raise pigs, until the pigs fell to the virus, but were later cured after rolling in mud. The man rolled himself in mud and was healed. Believe it or don’t, it’s not my story and I certainly didn’t tell it with much accuracy. Well I tasted the water. A bit out of bitterness because my Grandparents wouldn’t let me drink from the public fountain at the end of the Spanish steps in Italy as a child, but also because I want to be healed of whatever aliment I have coming for me. So I filled my watercooler cone cup with a few drops and grimaced for the next five minutes as I experienced what would be comparable to drinking warm blood soaked in pennies for 4,000 years. But I’m healed, right?

Bath also has, surprise!, a church! The Bath Abbey is quite pretty to look at as you wander through the city, but I didn’t get an opportunity to go inside. The River Avon (Avon means river, so River River) runs through Bath. A few of these photographs to the left may seem familiar as many movies are filmed in town. Les Miserables for one (a few weeks ago we happened to see Eddie Redmayne in a local little pub, woohoo).  There was a rugby match on Saturday so the pubs were overflowing and the atmosphere was fantastic. I purchased a traditional Bath Bun, in which your guess is as good as mine. The bun has sultanas and candied cherries adorning some knotted dough, I suppose. It wasn’t as wonderful as the Welsh Cakes or the Stroopwafels. To redeem, I bought an ice cream cone, my first of the trip. I’m a mint chip person, but I couldn’t resist a scoop of Turkish delight because I’m risky and living on the edge and all. The Turkish delight had a rose base with chocolate chunks thrown in. And I’d highly recommend it. I was a happy camper.

I apologize for the excessive Stonehenge pictures that you have to scroll through because I know they are just rocks and every tourist takes the same photograph from the same spot and there’s no creativity, but just look at those rocks! They opened a new exhibit this year and though it was small, I took a lot away from it. I even got to test Mead, a honey-wine consumed on site back in the day. So cultured I am. But really, we couldn’t have had a lovelier day to explore Bath and Stonehenge. I really enjoyed the day trip.

Though exhausted, we couldn’t help but let another night go by where we mull over academic essays that use words far too big and simultaneously quote Big Bang Theory like it’s our job. We went out to a club in Leicester Square and had a grand old time. I think we finally found a place with locals our age. That seems to be rare. I’m coming to realize that I don’t think I can go home. I’m really happy here. Why not live abroad, right?

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England–Julius Caesar looking oddly disproportional

Roman Baths, Bath, England–Julius Caesar looking oddly disproportional

Model of the Roman Baths

Model of the Roman Baths

Roman Baths, Bath, England

Roman Baths, Bath, England

A traditional Bath Bun

A traditional Bath Bun

Mint Chip (for tradition) and Turkish Delight (being risky) ice cream in Bath, England

Mint Chip (for tradition) and Turkish Delight (being risky) ice cream in Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Bath, England

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

The moon rock at Stonehenge as well as some sheep

The moon rock at Stonehenge as well as some sheep

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge and myself

Stonehenge and myself

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

2 thoughts on “23 Feb 2014: Bath, Stonehenge

  1. Sydney came over today for Brunch at Threadgills where a live gospel group sang to us as we chowed down on pancakes, eggs, fruit and whipped cream! Not as exciting as your meals – but fun and we missed you! Enjoyed reading your blog together and then shopped at Costco for boring items and drank pure spring water right out of the Ozarka plastic bottle!

Leave a Reply

