12 Sept 2014: Fourth Year

San Marcos River

San Marcos River

Hatch Green Chile Season!

Hatch Green Chile Season!

Geneva's not about that summer reading

Geneva’s not about that summer reading

After an average summer of living at home with a younger brother that incessantly yells at a computer game in the wee hours of the morning, working shifts that began one day and ended the next, and drowning in my own triple degree sweat, fall semester had never sounded more appealing. I moved my bed into my bestie’s home as soon as my summer waitressing job would give me up with hopes to become a river rat once again. I was more than pleased to be back at Texas State after a rather strange academic semester in England. I was so pleased that I wrote some tasteful caption on Instagram raving about a fruitful summer and the endless possibilities ahead; a perfect foreshadowing to my adventures to follow…

I went to test my bike out the evening before class to find a flat tire (problem number one). The bike shop helped me out in time to find my way to campus by climbing mountains and carrying my bike up the stairs because campus is relentless to the biking population, all of which led to me collapsing on a bench inside with eyes going blurry and sound dissipating. Ah, to faint on the first day of class. I was sweating profusely and everyone around me tried not to look as I threw water into my gasping mouth and managed to not become completely unconscious (problem number two). This led to a migraine (problem number three), somehow also probably led to me waiting 45 minutes for a breakfast taco (problem number four), and finally to find my bicycle with a second flat tire upon completion of class at 8pm (problem number five), two miles from home (problem number six), with a dead phone (problem number seven) and a modern brain that doesn’t store mate’s numbers (problem number eight). I walked home, carrying all eight of these problems (problem number nine). Bikeless, I’m required to walk the miles of burning asphalt in broken shoes (problem number ten) to class the following morning (problem number eleven) when I begin to feel a tightness in my throat (problem number twelve). By the weekend, I can’t swallow my own saliva (problem number thirteen). I’m without food and water for over 48 hours (problem fourteen-eighteen, these are big problems) and I think to myself at this point, maybe I should have stayed in London. Maybe I could have just swiped my Oyster card or I could have walked downstairs and checked in at Boots with my Chemist. Maybe my problems are too big for big ol’ dumb stupid Texas (this is a Spongebob reference, I do not entirely mean it).

But I’m here, almost fully recovered from a bout of viral pharyngitis and already into the swing of things again. I have sweet roommates, three of which are animals. I’m allergic to the kitten, but she’s cute so itchy eyes are my forever now. I get to bike a few miles to campus every day which leaves me sweating profusely in the still triple digit weather, but it keeps people from sitting adjacent to me (HAHA). I got to visit Lexy’s family in Laredo last weekend to celebrate her sister’s pancake and mimosa birthday. Besides copious amounts of tacos, enough Flamin’ Hot Cheetos to stain my fingertips for a week and experiencing Tamarindo in many forms and on many occasions, I got to utilize what little Spanish education I had as I asked for a dressing room at Forever 21. At restaurants, at supermarkets, at the mall, everyone spoke Spanish. Even when I responded with “five”, I was met with more Spanish. This so greatly reminded me of my struggles abroad which caused all sorts of feelings to come flooding back. I love being exposed to other cultures and it’s pretty neat that this is just a few hours from home and still within Texas. Laredo probably isn’t a traditional tourist destination, but I met some pretty great people and had some pretty great food so you better believe I’ll be back.

Also, if you like witty things, demand Katy to blog more. Please and thank you.

Austin's Bats, my favorite thing.

Austin’s Bats, my favorite thing.

Luke taking up prime real estate

Luke taking up prime real estate

Roomie Luke

Roomie Luke

Paddle boarding with Bruce and Capt Waters

Paddle boarding with Bruce and Capt Waters

Home

Home

Home

Home

IMG_4660

IMG_4623

Luke

Luke

Luke

Luke

Home

Home

Marzipan

Marzipan

Home

Home

Work float

Work float

San Marcos River

San Marcos River

San Marcos River

San Marcos River

Canopy's Anniversary, photo courtesy of Annie Ray

Canopy’s Anniversary, photo courtesy of Annie Ray

Made it into Austin Monthly

Made it into Austin Monthly

How many is too many?

How many is too many?

Tamarindo tacos in Laredo

Tamarindo tacos in Laredo

A bug of balloons

A bug of balloons

Lexy trying to kill me with cheetos, rips and gusado.

Lexy trying to kill me with cheetos, rips and gusado.

Oscar can't hang

Oscar can’t hang

New local brew, also really excited about that package design.

New local brew, also really excited about that package design.

This is how I keep burning my feet on the asphalt, while wearing shoes.

This is how I keep burning my feet on the asphalt, while wearing shoes.

2 thoughts on “12 Sept 2014: Fourth Year

Leave a Reply

