27 Dec 2014: Holidays

IMG_5287 Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset IMG_4925 IMG_4899 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset IMG_4932 Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset  IMG_4952 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

IMG_4928

Roomies

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

From the Texas State Capital

From the Texas State Capital

A little family Christmas

A little family Christmas

Bow wow

Bow wow

Raindrops: all grown up

Raindrops: all grown up

IMG_5392

Wicker Park with Renée

Wicker Park with Renée

Wicker Park with Jordan

Wicker Park with Jordan

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

I grew up next to these girls, they're the best

I grew up next to these girls, they’re the best

IMG_5197

IMG_4965 IMG_4980 IMG_4992Winter break began with a 48 hour hibernation that entailed eight Gilmore Girls, one Mindy Project, two glasses of wine, next year’s tuition and a painful jog for the first time post-recovery.

Exam week could have gone better, but I took an extended study break after winning tickets to see one of my favorite bands play an intimate show. So here I am, standing next to a small and dainty Alaina Moore after she’s won my heart over and I’m struggling not to profess my love and inquire about roadies or a best friendship. Needless to say, I studied her vinyl more than my notes that evening and if I had to guess the grade I was going to receive (let’s say, 60%?) then I would have been off by a mere 33%. Surely the professor entered the A in incorrectly, but who am I to argue? I can be passive. I like passive.

But going back in time, my housemates and I hosted a little swanky Thanksgiving gathering (Swanksgiving, and not pertaining to Hillary Swank). We dressed up, but who are we kidding, Luke (the dog) stole the show just like always in his new bow tie.

I worked on Thanksgiving, which only further confirmed the hate in some customer’s heart as they stingily left zero dollars for their server who makes $2.13 an hour, on a holiday. I might seem bitter, but I’m not, I promise. I had mum’s sweet potato casserole after work, how could I be upset?

I had holiday in Chicago to see family and escape the dreadful 75 degrees that plagues Austin (ha!). It’s been almost a decade since I claimed residency in the great, flat state of Illinois, but somehow it will always feel homey. I met with Jordan and Renée (two flatmates from London!) for a day of shopping in Wicker Park, eating pastries and Pho, celebrating Hanukkah with latkes and tearing a weave out of Renée’s hair. To be back in the company of these girls so soon makes me sure I’ll see them often. I also spent hours in the company of old neighbors and friends which is always sweet. But I know you’re wondering if I made it to Portillo’s and you can rest easy because of course I indulged in a Chicago style hot dog and cheese fries or a nice Italian beef while I could. On three separate, glorious occasions.

This year was wild. This year was incredibly personal. I hope yours was and continues to be grand in the next year. xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

